Ready, Set, …

No, Go is tomorrow.

Tomorrow? Oh yeah, day 1 of the 2 week gluten-free challenge we’re all doing!…right?

Gluten free is eeeaaaassssyyyyyy. Honestly! It’s easy because there are soo many alternatives for your favorite crispy crunchies (and I don’t mean Lays!). If your biggest issue with being gluten-free means to you that you won’t ever have a chip again in your life, fret not! Making the choice to be gluten-free is easier now than it probably ever has been, there’s even a gluten-free section in Wal-Mart. You can still get delicious pasta, bread, chips and crackers all without much effort on your part. I highly encourage you to see if making this choice temporarily or permanently could have a positive impact on your life. Certainly it’s easier to grab an apple and peanut butter than buy a bag of chips, for me, if I’m focusing on being gluten-free. For me, it’s all about feeling my best, and gluten just doesn’t help me feel my best (although I’m a sucker for fresh sourdough). HERE is a link to all of the recipes on my blog that are Gluten-Free, so far (this is my 99th post-yippee!). But just in case you didn’t hit the store recently, I’ll list what I think are “no-brainer” gluten-free snacks.

No Brainer Gluten-Free Snacks

  • Apples and peanut butter or peanut butter cookies
  • Corn chips and salsa. I’ll make my own soon and post it here, but watch out for sugar in salsa. Unnecessary, but it’s in there sometimes. Corn chips being a “gmo-free” item is important. Try to get a type that doesn’t have much more than “corn, oil, sea salt, water and lime”, with oil being of the non-soybean/hydrogenated variety.
  • Rice chips. I tried these, and they would do in a pinch.
  • Hummus and carrots. I have to say that with the plethora of grocery stores you can probably snag a bunch of carrots, grab a container of hummus, self checkout and be on your merry way faster than your spot in line at Taco Bell would have been. You also have the power to view what exactly it is you’re eating. Pink slime at Taco Bell? I’ve even pre-googled the link for you today. I’m sure tomorrow will bring more yuck! But also watch for store bought hummus with a bunch of additives. Just do your best to increase your awareness of additives and ingredients.
  • Trail mix. Jon’s blend; almonds, cashews, brazil nuts, raisins and dried cranberries; I add goji berries and bits of dark chocolate bars (who can resist?!).
  • Lara bars or bumble bars. There are quite a few whole food bars available. Avoid processed sugar and other additives.
  • Fruit leathers. I love these! But no sugar please!
  • Fruit and cheese. Oh man, some raw milk blue cheese and strawberries…are you serious?!! That was Sunday’s dessert!
Look for these key words when avoiding gluten, as things you DON’T want:
  • Wheat
  • Barley
  • Rye
  • Tritical
  • Gluten
  • Bulgur
  • Durum flour
  • Farina
  • Graham flour
  • Kamut
  • Semolina
  • Spelt
  • Gelatinized starch
  • Hydrolyzed vegetable protein
  • Vital gluten
  • Wheat bran
  • Wheat germ
  • Wheat gluten
  • Vegetable gum
  • Vegetable starch

And don’t believe all of that baloney about becoming “fiber deficient ” by eating gluten-free. I’ve talked about fiber, and nowhere does wheat play an essential part in my world!

Also, a couple of links that focus on gluten-free.

See you on the other side!

Tags: ,

About Sarah Hiller

Eco-maniacal! I love learning about food and health, and then sharing! I'm also an aspiring photographer, although I'm usually too hungry to take great care with my food photos! It is my goal to empower and support people through nutrition and attitude. I have an Etsy store you can check out as well www.etsy.com/shop/ironballoon

4 responses to “Ready, Set, …”

  1. Angeline Shiley says :

    Made a yummy Thai inspired coleslaw with carrots, cabbage, cilantro, mint and peppers (dressing: peanut butter/almond butter, gf tamari, lime, maple syrup, jalapeno peppers, rice vinegar). We’re trying to stock our fridge with pre-made gluten free salads and snacks for the work week/school week–this recipe makes the cut. Any other good ideas for us? Things that keep well and pack well?

  2. Amy says :

    I’m ready! Should be pretty easily since my recent rededication to being raw vegan but this will help if I should want to stray! Thanks for all the great info!

Get in the conversation!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 85 other followers

