Let-go my Pesto

I am once again very thankful for the fact that I am too lazy to put my camera in its rightful place (IE not the kitchen) but I think after tonight I’ll keep it in the wrong spot. Because this meal was something I made up, I wanted to share it with you, because being vegetarian can be simply amazing. I cannot (and I don’t try very hard) pass up the smell of basil in the grocery store. The amazing crispness and distinct smell of that miraculous herb just screams “PESTO ME”! At least today it did. 2 weeks ago it screamed “BRUSCHETTA ME”, to which I happily obliged. Since we are no longer hard-core raw foodists, I feel fortunate to still have the will power to only buy this one loaf of organic rosemary bread twice in one month and to use minimal good cheese and to not have to accommodate meat. I’ve been able to appreciate the simpler and finer tastes in life, tonight’s sandwich being one of them.

Pesto Panini

  • 2 slices of a ‘hole-y’ hearty bread, I used a sea-salted rosemary diamante
  • 2 slices of good provolone
  • 2-3 slices of tomato
  • homemade pesto (it’s so easy!) I winged it off of this recipe
  • smidge of ghee, butter or olive oil

Directions:

Start off like a grilled cheese, butter/oil the plan and put bread on it, slather the “inside” of the bread with pesto, then cheese, then tomato on one slice. Put the two halves together and flip to keep from burning until the cheese melts and voila!

I hope I didn’t insult intelligences with the complicated description of a fancy grilled cheese, but some people need specific directions. To each his or her own…sandwich.

Tags: , , , ,

About Sarah Hiller

Eco-maniacal! I love learning about food and health, and then sharing! I'm also an aspiring photographer, lover of kale, dogs, yoga, anything fitness, sunshine, rainbows, unicorns and heavy metal. It is my goal to empower and support people through nutrition and attitude. I have an Etsy store you can check out as well www.etsy.com/shop/ironballoon

Get in the conversation!

