Overwhelmed and Hungry

I don’t even know where to start I’m so overwhelmed…and hungry! There I was…3 minutes ago, perusing blogs/websites for vegetarian/vegan recipes, and it hits me like a block of frozen tofu. OHMYGOSHIMOVERWHELMEDWITHTHIS! I was casually having a conversation with myself 2 nights ago about the origin of recipes. The evening I decided to pull the Pesto Sandwich out of thin air I thought “When did we become so reliant on others’ recipes and opinions on food?”. I can say that the less I look at a recipe book or blog the more creative and free I feel in the kitchen. Just thinking about some foods that sound good together has yielded me some amazing results. I’m not implying that the books and blogs aren’t helpful, but I am saying that we should cook with our guts and noses, as it is not something reserved solely for the Cordon Bleu certified chef. For example, I purchased some organic basil pesto frozen ravioli, and of course we don’t have any canned tomato sauce so I decided to wing it with a sauce. Butter, garlic, basil all sounded yummy but this is when the stroke of genius hit me…what about that 3/4 of a Roma tomato left? Uh yeah! Chop that up, let it blend with the butter sauce for a min and toss with ravioli…delectable. So I thought, “THAT would be too simple for a recipe book and frozen ravioli is not the topic of blogs usually,” but why the hell not?! I’ve been finding over the last few weeks, that with the fresh fruits, veggies and herbs at my disposal I don’t have to have a meal plan. I just go with the flow. You can’t go wrong with fresh stuff in just about any combination you want!

RE: The Recipe
My humble and unproven theory on the recipe goes like this:
Woman 1 “Wow! That is some amazing corn bread/potato salad/apple pie/sticks and berries (caveman era…who knows).”
Woman 2 “I can tell you how I made it if you would like.”
Woman 1 “Wonderful!”
So I’m not a screen writer…but you get the idea. Hence Woman 1 goes home to make something that if a success, shows she is research-savvy and resourceful. However, if it fails, it was Woman 2’s recipe! HA!
So with all of these recipe gurus and WAYTOOMUCHINFO I think I’ll grab what smells good and go with it. I do enjoy having the web at my disposal because if a concoction sounds good in my head, I want to see if anyone else has had the same thought and met it with success. Dill/chive/mustard/veganaise concoction? Total success. Cilantro/jalepeno/ginger/garlic/honey dressing? Success. Google really does feed me…
So, if you’re facing a similar overhwhelmed sensation when perusing recipes or just experimenting with your own senses, I recommend going with your gut. Seriously, you can’t go wrong. How do you think Chili and Chocolate were combined? THAT was before google…

Tags:

About Sarah Hiller

Eco-maniacal! I love learning about food and health, and then sharing! I'm also an aspiring photographer, lover of kale, dogs, yoga, anything fitness, sunshine, rainbows, unicorns and heavy metal. It is my goal to empower and support people through nutrition and attitude. I have an Etsy store you can check out as well www.etsy.com/shop/ironballoon

Get in the conversation!

