Un-Dressing

Today, we are undressing salad dressing.
Why is this so important? I digress for a moment-Besides the fact that salad dressing is the easiest thing to make, it’s completely personalized! For instance, we were in the mood for spicy, but I didn’t feel like taking the gloves out to deal with the Thai chili peppers. I hear your protest of “But it’s like 98° outside!! You can’t be serious. I’m at risk for losing too many fluids already!” Take heed my sweaty friend, spicy is GOOD for you when it’s hot. Spicy food does increase perspiration, but that’s the body’s natural air conditioner kicking in. Think about Mexican food… Hot climate, spicy food. Tis not a coincidence.
For the un-dressing part; Making your own dressing is also important because you eliminate the nasty Xanthan Gum (among other additives). I’ve spent HOURS perusing salad dressing labels, and I haven’t seen one yet that doesn’t contain this product. Is it REALLY that bad?  I’m no scientist, but if you need to be one to answer that question, I’m going with ‘yes’, it IS that bad. As a side note about Xanthan Gum, the company that brought my attention to the nature of this product was Kashi. In a magazine I receive there was a tear-out with icky additives, what they are, and if Kashi would put it in their product or not; here’s the link to the Ingredient Decoder. The irony is Kashi notes Xanthan Gum is processed with petrochemicals and they gave it a thumbs down. Take a look for yourself at the ingredients in this pizza and tell me if you spot a no-no. I guess marketing and the ingredient department aren’t on the same page. (You may also find it ironic that this pizza and others were recalled for plastic fragments).

Just another reason to buy fresh and make your own. Plus sesame is a seed so it’s perfect for those with nut allergies!

So for those sweltering days where the pool is a pipe dream, here is a spicy dressing to make you perspire in all the wrong places.

Korean Salad Dressing

  • 1/4 cup soy sauce (I use Bragg’s Liquid Aminos, you wouldn’t even know the difference)
  • 3 T rice wine vinegar
  • 4 T water
  • 2 T sugar (or other sweetener)
  • 3 T sesame oil
  • 3 tsp red chili pepper powder (kochukaru) (Here I used 3 tsp Sriracha “The Rooster” sauce)*
  • crushed sesame seeds (optional)

Directions:

  • Combine ingredients and whisk until combined. Store unused portion in fridge. To make yourself even more amazing, reuse a glass bottle. I reused a coconut water glass bottle and it was the perfect size.

*I will let you know that the first time I made this, I thought it said 3 T instead of 3 tsp Sriracha. It was SUPER spicy, but nothing like the habanero nightmare I had a few years back. It was tolerable, so add more spice if your heart desires.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About Sarah Hiller

Eco-maniacal! I love learning about food and health, and then sharing! I'm also an aspiring photographer, lover of kale, dogs, yoga, anything fitness, sunshine, rainbows, unicorns and heavy metal. It is my goal to empower and support people through nutrition and attitude. I have an Etsy store you can check out as well www.etsy.com/shop/ironballoon

2 responses to “Un-Dressing”

  1. hangryhippo says :

    Really great post. It’s amazing the amount of unnecessary and unhealthy shit that is put into very simple products, like salad dressing. (Also, when I was beginning a gluten free diet, there are all kinds of additives that made salad dressings not to be gluten free…so watch out) Making your own is definitely the way to go!

    • S. Hiller says :

      I tried looking up more info on Xanthan Gum, and I think for me, the fact that it is, or can be, derived from corn (most likely GMO) is a big reason to stay away! Yuck-o! The gluten free issue came up too. It’s amazing what we put in stuff to make it appealing. We are one giant experiment! Whoa. I’m getting a little nuts. :)

Get in the conversation!

