Liquor Store Adventures

Since Jon and I are trying to fill only one car with gas, he took the car to work and I was tasked with getting liquor, because this is the only way a certain someone will watch a certain show with a certain Joan Rivers hosting. The trip to the liquor store is about, oh, 3.8 miles round trip according to google maps (I STILL hate you MapQuest), so I decided to ride my trusty 15 year old Huffy to the store. And you know what? It was awesome. I know there are a ton of people who do this all of the time because they; A. Don’t have a car and choice doesn’t factor in, B. Are too drunk already and must find other modes of transportation, or C. They want to be eco-friendly and cut carbon emissions etc etc etc. C. was sort of my reason, but mostly it was, “Seriously, how silly is it for me to drive the other car when I have a perfectly good bike and a few hours before Jon comes home?” (And maybe a few calories to burn from the Avocado, Tomato & Feta omelette I had earlier. Of course all told with a stop at the grocery store for some mint, the trip took a mere 40-45 minutes. The cashier at the liquor store even saw my bike and asked if she could package it up for me. So…maybe there wasn’t a whole lot of adventure here and now you’re feeling let down… Don’t worry, I’ve got the fruits of my labor to share with you, and you and your entire posse can thank me after your next party.

Neuralizer*

  • 1 shot of coconut rum (I’m sure any tropical flavor would work too)
  • 2 T muddled fresh mint
  • Blood Orange or Tropical Organic Italian Soda
  • Ice

 

I think putting measurements in drink recipes is stupid. Everyone has their own taste and some days it’s just not strong enough. So muddle some mint in a glass, and if you don’t have a muddler I’ve improvised with an ice cream scoop and been pleasantly surprised. Add some ice and rum and a mixture of, or one flavor, the organic Italian Soda. It’s sold at most markets like Metropolitan and Safeway.
I have also put this mixture in the blender with frozen or fresh strawberries so it’s like a daiquiri. Honestly, I don’t know how I can call myself a friend if I haven’t shared this with you yet.
Drink and Enjoy! I’ll have an extra for you tonight while Joan tells me how the picture of Carey Mulligan “was the least masturbated-to photo at Comic Con”. God I love you Joan.

*I totally made the name up based on a Men in Black reference, so don’t go asking for it at the bar just yet.

Tags: , , ,

About Sarah Hiller

Eco-maniacal! I love learning about food and health, and then sharing! I'm also an aspiring photographer, lover of kale, dogs, yoga, anything fitness, sunshine, rainbows, unicorns and heavy metal. It is my goal to empower and support people through nutrition and attitude. I have an Etsy store you can check out as well www.etsy.com/shop/ironballoon

2 responses to “Liquor Store Adventures”

  1. S. Hiller says :

    Oohh that sounds yummy! And although it’s a pretty old bike, I got a compliment on it at Albertson’s. It goes quite well with my silver floral helmet. :)

  2. Katy Lee says :

    The next time you do a Pee-Wee adventure to the liquor store (I am just picturing you riding a 15 year old Huffy with tassels on the handlebars) check out the new ACAI berry liquor called VEEV. Best stuff on earth and I think you will totally love it! Each purchase has a percentage that will go back to the rain forest in addition to drinking the best berry ever found. Loving your Blog :)) ~K

Get in the conversation!

