New 4-Letter Word

I think “Diet” is a terrible 4-letter word. It leads people to think of iceberg lettuce, tasteless, sad lives devoid of any real pleasure for a short period of time before losing a few pounds on the way to a happier healthier body.

Diet:
1. food and drink considered in terms of its qualities, composition, and its effect on health: Milk is a wholesome article of diet.
2. a particular selection of food, especially as designed or prescribed to improve a person’s physical condition or to prevent or treat a disease: a diet low in sugar.
3. such a selection or a limitation on the amount a person eats for reducing weight: No pie for me, I’m on a diet.
4. the foods eaten, as by a particular person or group: The native diet consists of fish and fruit.
5. food or feed habitually eaten or provided: The rabbits were fed a diet of carrots and lettuce.
6. anything that is habitually provided or partaken of: Television has given us a steady diet of game shows and soap operas.

I can say I don’t care much for long-term choices, like becoming a vegetarian, vegan, raw foodist, etc., being labeled as diets. When I am asked what kind of diet I’m on, I prefer to reply with, “We believe in common sense eating.”

Lifestyle:
the habits, attitudes, tastes, moral standards, economic level, etc., that together constitute the mode of living of an individual or group.

Splitting hairs? Maybe. But diet has such a nasty connotation, and for me it symbolizes a short-term commitment rather than a complete overhaul of your life, attitudes and morals. I’m not saying that one is better than the other in terms of types of food excluded. But I am saying that there is some thought that should be put into what goes into your mouth. Perhaps the headaches and general feeling of shitiness is due to the MSG in your chicken broth/Ruffles chips/Campbell’s soups? Counting calories is a terrible way to lead people to making even worse choices. Be free of that, and eat well. You deserve it. Whatever motivation you have to lose weight/feel better, reevaluate it. Is it something that can keep you motivated long-term?  If the goal is always to lose weight, and results take time, motivation swirls down the toilet right? But if the goal is to achieve and maintain your perfect weight for perfect health, now doesn’t that sound more achievable and sustainable?

I’ve been reading Renee Loux’s Easy Green Living and she says some things that astound me. That junk mail you get everyday? 100 million trees and 28 BILLION gallons of water are used to make this junk mail each year. She also notes that if you reduce your meat intake by 2-4 pounds A YEAR, you will save as much water as not showering for one year! It takes 2,500 gallons of water to make 1 pound of beef. We have a substantial relationship with water but few of us put much thought into where it comes from, how does it get there, and why does my filter say Cryptosporidium as something it needs to filter? Animal poo? In my WATER? I wonder how it got there and why the animal was sick in the first place…

I’m no PETA-picketing-let’s-save-the-squirrels person. But I am saying that the bad animal karma is catching up to us. We are bombarded by outbreaks of diseases and movies documenting our meat. I’m not against meat; grass-fed beef, wild salmon, and free-range chicken have amazing health benefits. I am saying that our method of obtaining the usual meat product is dangerous.

Today was a bit off the usual path, but I hope that I can at least encourage you to go veggie one day a week. You’ve got to start somewhere right?

Tags: , ,

About Sarah Hiller

Eco-maniacal! I love learning about food and health, and then sharing! I'm also an aspiring photographer, lover of kale, dogs, yoga, anything fitness, sunshine, rainbows, unicorns and heavy metal. It is my goal to empower and support people through nutrition and attitude. I have an Etsy store you can check out as well www.etsy.com/shop/ironballoon

2 responses to “New 4-Letter Word”

  1. Kate Lee says :

    Love you Sarah!!

Get in the conversation!

