What Comes Around

What goes around really does come around.
And I’m not just talking about the flu or herpes.

Jon and I have been reusing produce bags and shopping bags for about 6 months now, as in we don’t get new bags for our corn, carrots, etc. I do my best to keep the produce bags clean and to reuse them as much as possible within the limits of sanitation. Modern life DOES have its benefits. So, earlier this week Jon and I make a trip to the doggy treat store to stock up. We grab a produce bag from the back of the car and fill it up with treats. Jon places the bag on the scale and the clerk says “No, they’re free. I’ve never, in 7 years, seen someone reuse a bag like that”. We were dumbfounded. “Really, are you sure???” we asked. He insists.

And that…is recycling karma.

No Impact Man really made me angry with his attitude that just one person can’t possibly make a difference. He wasn’t as negative as it sounds, but he worked so hard and thought that his work was peanuts in a CITY of millions putting recyclables in trash cans and using hot water to wash their laundry while watching TV and eating out of a carton. Well Jon and I realized that we DO make a difference and people notice that. Whether the dog treats were worth $40 or $4 makes no difference because every little bit helps. Take for instance the man in the photo above. While standing in a long line I debate on 2 ears of corn for $1, or whether I should give it to this man. Wasn’t much of a debate, because I gladly dropped it in his trunk. He promptly quit playing and gave me a great big thank you hug and told me how much he needed that. I needed that hug more than I needed that corn. I wish I had more than $1 to give him, but every little bit counts.

Remember your actions, because what goes around really does come around.

 

 

 

 

Tags:

About Sarah Hiller

Eco-maniacal! I love learning about food and health, and then sharing! I'm also an aspiring photographer, lover of kale, dogs, yoga, anything fitness, sunshine, rainbows, unicorns and heavy metal. It is my goal to empower and support people through nutrition and attitude. I have an Etsy store you can check out as well www.etsy.com/shop/ironballoon

3 responses to “What Comes Around”

  1. Lynnette says :

    So true Sarah, so very true.

  2. Grammie Donna says :

    You and Jon are so VERY special…and I am proud to be your grammie/Grandmie!!!

  3. Cheyenne says :

    This post was beautiful :).

Get in the conversation!

