Mpfh. “My Mouth Is Full of Cake”

This, is gluten-free glory.

I know you may be thinking, “That LOOKS like a cupcake, but does it TASTE like a cupcake”. Oh my skeptical friend, I am here to tell you (and Jon will too) that this tastes better than a boxed cake cupcake. This little beauty is made with coconut flour and grapeseed oil. Coconut flour is packed with fiber and doesn’t affect the taste of the chocolate cupcake. In fact, I’ve done the recipe calculator on Spark People so that I can compare the nutrition of the gluten-free cupcake to a Pillsbury prepared cupcake.

Pillsbury Chocolate Cake Mix Prepared

Gluten-Free Chocolate Cupcake
(Elana Amsterdam’s Recipe)

  • Serving: 1/12 cake (one cupcake)
  • Calories: 250
  • Fat: 11g
  • Sodium: 280mg
  • Carbs: 35g
  • Sugars: 22g
  • Fiber: 0g
  • Serving: 1 cupcake
  • Calories: 126
  • Fat: 9.5g
  • Sodium: 115mg
  • Carbs: 7g
  • Sugars: 0.9g
  • Fiber: 4g

Now, I’m not saying you should eat 2 gluten-free cupcakes to each 1 pillsbury, but you COULD. The gluten-free ones even have a smattering of vitamins and minerals, except for Vitamin A and E. How’s that for a healthy-ish treat? The frosting is made from solid coconut milk in a can, agave, and vanilla. I added a bit of coconut oil for more coconut flavor and a bit of firmness. I also used TCF (Totally Chlorine Free) cupcake liners. You can really add up the toxins (dioxins) in your body by using bleached filters and liners like those for coffee and cupcakes. I should add that the cupcake just slipped out of the liner in the most fabulous way, no cupcake left behind here.

I’ve put the recipe here on Spark People to gather the nutrition info, but it’s from a book by Elana Amsterdam called Gluten-Free Cupcakes. She has 50 recipes, and they are all insanely simple and use either almond or coconut flour. I got my copy from the library (another green-friendly option). So, check out your library and make yourself a batch of gluten-free cupcakes. No one can tell the difference and your diabetic/lactose intolerant/chocolate loving friends will love you for it.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About Sarah Hiller

Eco-maniacal! I love learning about food and health, and then sharing! I'm also an aspiring photographer, lover of kale, dogs, yoga, anything fitness, sunshine, rainbows, unicorns and heavy metal. It is my goal to empower and support people through nutrition and attitude. I have an Etsy store you can check out as well www.etsy.com/shop/ironballoon

One response to “Mpfh. “My Mouth Is Full of Cake””

  1. Lynnette says :

    This looks simply delicious! I want one!

Get in the conversation!

