I Cheated and I Eated It

No, I didn’t cheat on my husband or eat a bag of Oreos. (Well, the husband may have a different opinion when he reads this).

We usually have salads for dinner. Not boring salads, because I keep it fresh with interesting dressings like roasted jalapeno and Japanese “crack”. But Jon is at work and I just wanted some eggs. I LOVE eggs. Once we switched to free-range organic eggs, regular eggs just don’t taste the same and it has done nothing more than increase my love for eggs. I know we aren’t the only ones who think that either!
So the dilemma was How do I get veggies AND eggs and LOVE it?, because I’m still an adult transitioning (6 months! woohoo) from the standard american diet (SAD) of Lean Cuisines and low-fat Oreos, so I’m working on the veggie thing a bit more each day. Thank goodness for smoothies!
Last weekend I made a phenomenal salmon (not smoked but fresh), cream cheese, onion and tomato omelette. It was to die for. So I pulled some veggies from the fridge that we procured at the market and made myself the most amazing veggie omelette. Jon, will not be happy when he reads this. No pictures from the salmon one, and none from this one…there’s a reason.

There isn’t a science to omelettes, if you have ever been at a buffet with an omelette station you know what I mean. It’s eggs and stuff. Whatever you want really. So here’s my basic layout and you can have fun with it. This is a great way to eat your veggies and feel like you’re cheating.

Veggie Omelette
Egg portion:
3 eggs
1 T cilantro
salt, pepper and garlic powder
-Whisk all together and add to a small pan.

Filling (saute prior to adding to omelette):
Zucchini
Onions
Bell pepper
Tomato (I used some yellow ones from the photo above)
Thyme
1/4 oz of cream cheese
-Place sauteed filling and cheese in the middle of the eggs just before their done, while they’re still runny.

If you’ve never made an omelette, then scramble them and add the sauteed veggies and cheese, or wing it. Whatever. Done. Fin. Yum.

Tags: , ,

About Sarah Hiller

Eco-maniacal! I love learning about food and health, and then sharing! I'm also an aspiring photographer, lover of kale, dogs, yoga, anything fitness, sunshine, rainbows, unicorns and heavy metal. It is my goal to empower and support people through nutrition and attitude. I have an Etsy store you can check out as well www.etsy.com/shop/ironballoon

2 responses to “I Cheated and I Eated It”

  1. Grammie Donna says :

    Sounds “MIGHTY TASTY”..if you know what I mean!!!

  2. Lynnette says :

    Every time I read your blog I get hungry. Ok, maybe not every time, but the food blogs I do! Yum!

Get in the conversation!

