Almonds and Chocolate and Coconut, Oh My!

Oh man oh man. Can I just tell you how much I love chocolate and coconut?? Like, love. A lot.

I’ve been into gluten-free baking and so I perused Elana Amsterdam’s blog. She wrote a gluten-free cupcake book that was informative and delicious. Perusing her recipes online I found one for Mounds candy bars. Her photos are simply stunning!
So I started making the coconut mixture because I was debating about using the few chocolate chips I bought, or to make raw chocolate sauce. I made her original filling with honey instead of agave and I filled one star ice cube mold with a tester. I put it in the freezer, and when it was firm I took a bite and it was just too oily for my taste. So, I threw in more shredded coconut and a bit more coconut oil and coconut butter. (The difference is coconut butter contains coconut meat whereas the oil doesn’t. Both are delicious licked off of a spoon).  Then I thought, “Ooh. Almonds! Almond Joys!” and so the recipes below were born. The almond cluster was a product of the leftover chocolate sauce combined with almonds and almond butter I whipped up yesterday.

Raw Almond Joy Candy Bars

1 batch raw chocolate sauce

  • 2 T cacao powder
  • 1 T coconut oil melted
  • 1 T raw agave
  • 2 tsp honey
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened shredded coconut
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil and coconut butter mixed, melted (if you only have coconut oil this is fine)
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • *For Almond Joys: place an almond into each cube before packing with coconut mixture
  • (1 tsp coconut oil for molds)

Directions:

  1. Make chocolate sauce and set aside
  2. Use ice cube tray for mold, and lightly grease inside with coconut oil
  3. In a small bowl, combine shredded coconut, coconut oil/butter and honey
  4. Pack molds with coconut mixture; If you don’t pack them they may fall apart when you take them out
  5. Place in freezer for 10 minutes or until hard
  6. Remove from freezer, turn mold upside down and pop mounds out of mold
  7. Dip mounds in chocolate, or drizzle with chocolate
  8. Serve and store in the freezer.

Raw Almond Chocolate Clusters

I really can’t give measurements, just eyeball it. You’ll know.
Mix leftover chocolate sauce (if you didn’t lick the bowl) with raw almonds and some raw almond butter. Spoon balls (like you do with cookies) on a plate and put them in the fridge to firm up.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

About Sarah Hiller

Eco-maniacal! I love learning about food and health, and then sharing! I'm also an aspiring photographer, lover of kale, dogs, yoga, anything fitness, sunshine, rainbows, unicorns and heavy metal. It is my goal to empower and support people through nutrition and attitude. I have an Etsy store you can check out as well www.etsy.com/shop/ironballoon

Get in the conversation!

