20lbs of Insanity ~ Update

Ok, so I didn’t nap. I ate. Remember the whole “I have 20 pounds of apples and I don’t know what to do”-thing?

Here’s what I’ve done.

  1. Frozen about 1/2.
  2. Made a dairy/sugar/gluten-free apple crumble that is TO DIE FOR.
  3. Made Carrot & Apple Soup that is sooooo good.
Want the recipes? Let me tell you how hard it was to find an apple crumble without 2 cups of sugar and a stick of butter. I never did find one, so I made it up!
OK!

Grammie’s Apple Crumble (in honor of my Grammie!)

  • 4 apples, cored and sliced (crispy apples like granny smith or liberty work great)
  • 1 tsp fresh squeezed lemon juice
  • 1 1/2 cups walnuts, chopped
  • 1 T melted coconut oil, (+1/2 tsp to grease pan)
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon, +1/4 tsp
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 2 T honey
  • Small handful of oats (this will negate the gluten-free aspect) 
  1. Preheat oven to 350°.
  2. Grind up walnuts if you have fresh ones. If you bought a bag, crush them with a hammer on a wooden cutting board (in the bag with a small hole in it so they don’t explode all over you!).
  3. In a bowl mix walnuts, melted coconut oil, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, nutmeg, honey (and oats if you have them). Taste and add more cinnamon if desired. This mixture is nice and soft and ‘crumbly’.
  4. In another bowl toss apples with lemon juice, then add 1/4 tsp cinnamon.
  5. Place apples in an 8×8 greased baking dish. Top with walnut crumble. Bake for 20-25 minutes (crunchy/soft apples).
  6. Serve immediately.

Carrot & Apple Soup

  • 1 T olive oil
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 1 medium leek, chopped
  • 1 lb carrots, sliced (don’t peel, waste of time)
  • 1 apple, cored and chopped (peel it if you aren’t going to puree the soup)
  • 4 c vegetarian broth or reduced-sodium chicken broth (check for MSG)
  • 1 tsp fresh ginger, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, chopped
  • optional: mint for garnish
  1. Heat oil in large saucepan on medium-high until hot. Saute onion and leek til translucent (4 mins).
  2. Mix in carrots and apple. Cover pot, reduce heat and cook gently until vegetables give up most of their juices (8-10 mins).
  3. Add broth, ginger and garlic. Cover and cook until carrots are very soft, about 30 minutes.
  4. Let soup sit, uncovered, about 20 minutes, to cool slightly. Puree soup in a blender or food processor, if necessary in two batches. (Blender makes a smoother soup.) If soup is too thick, add  broth as desired. Season to taste with salt and pepper.
  5. Serve garnished with mint.
  6. Enjoy eating something delicious at less than 150 calories with 5 g of fiber!
I adapted this recipe a bit from the one at The American Institute for Cancer Research.
Tags: , , , , , , ,

About Sarah Hiller

Eco-maniacal! I love learning about food and health, and then sharing! I'm also an aspiring photographer, lover of kale, dogs, yoga, anything fitness, sunshine, rainbows, unicorns and heavy metal. It is my goal to empower and support people through nutrition and attitude. I have an Etsy store you can check out as well www.etsy.com/shop/ironballoon

2 responses to “20lbs of Insanity ~ Update”

  1. grandmie4rah says :

    You are truly something special. An apple crumble named for me!!! It does sound delicious or as you said when you were a little girl…”Mighty Tasty!!!”. I wish I was close enough to have a taste of your wonderfully healthy foods that you prepare. Jon is lucky!!!

    I am doing amazingly fine and learned this week that my radiation can be done by mammosite!!! I see doctors this week and will have the balloon implant done on Thursday. My one week, two times a day, radiation will
    start October 24th!!! Woot…Woot…Then all I need to do is take one pill
    a day of something they recommend for 5 years…and it is all done and in the past.

    Isn’t that marvelous news???

    ||_0\/e!!!
    grammie

Get in the conversation!

