Breakfast Fudge Anyone?

 

 

 

 

This, is no ordinary fudge. Actually Jon said it was a bit more cake-like. I’ll work on it. But for now I thought I would share this 5 ingredient fudge, because that’s just selfish not to.

Mocha Walnut Fudge (dairy/sugar/gluten-free)

  • 3-4 medjool dates, pitted, chopped and soaked in purified water for 3 hours
  • 1 1/2 c walnuts
  • 2 T cacao powder
  • 2 tsp finely ground coffee (I think foldgers is too coarse)
  • 1 tsp raw honey
In a food processor or Vitamix blend the walnuts and drained dates into a semi-smooth dough (you will still have walnut pieces). Place the mixture in a bowl and add cacao, honey and coffee. Taste the mixture and adjust to taste. Press mixture into something (ice cube tray, pie pan, I used a tupperware) and smooth with spatula. Freeze for an hour and then cut into squares. Makes 9 1.5″ squares.
It would be delicious with a variety of things in it, so play with it. It’s a pretty inexpensive experiment I’d say!
Do not let the dates scare you! This doesn’t taste like dates at all. In fact, I’ve never actually eaten one plain because I’m that scared of dates. And Medjool are the ones I usually work with and what raw foodists use most often, so if you are brave and want to forge a different path please do! Don’t let the price scare you either. Usually you find Medjools at $9 a pound, but it would take a LOT of dates to make a pound. They also keep in the fridge for a looong time. I didn’t use my first batch for a few months!
Be adventurous and Enjoy!

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About Sarah Hiller

Eco-maniacal! I love learning about food and health, and then sharing! I'm also an aspiring photographer, lover of kale, dogs, yoga, anything fitness, sunshine, rainbows, unicorns and heavy metal. It is my goal to empower and support people through nutrition and attitude. I have an Etsy store you can check out as well www.etsy.com/shop/ironballoon

Get in the conversation!

