Aw Nuts

Holiday beauty is what that is! The smell of these things haunts me wherever I go! So, I got to thinking about how to make these EASILY. I’ve done them in the oven and they were either burned or chewy and the same went for the baking pan! It also required an egg white and I knew that a non-egg eater could have adapted the recipe.

So here is the recipe, and a lower sugar version as well, with step-by-step photos!

Candied Almonds (egg- and dairy-free)
1 c almonds (or mixed nuts like pecans and whole walnuts)
1/4 c water
1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 c evaporated cane juice (organic sugar)

Lower sugar
1 c almonds
1/4 c water
1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/3 c evaporated cane juice (organic sugar)

Directions:
Mix cinnamon, sugar and water in a pan on medium heat. When it starts bubbling (2 minutes or so) add in nuts. Stir with a wooden spoon every 30 seconds or so. After 10 minutes all liquid should have evaporated. Place immediately on foil lined baking pan and cool for 15 minutes. Separate immediately to avoid sticking!

You can also double the recipe, but use a bigger pan. My lower sugar version is adapted from HERE. Splenda and Stevia will not work for this recipe. I did find this recipe using coconut sugar and this one as well. Haven’t tried it yet, but plan on it!

Tags: , , , , ,

About Sarah Hiller

Eco-maniacal! I love learning about food and health, and then sharing! I'm also an aspiring photographer, lover of kale, dogs, yoga, anything fitness, sunshine, rainbows, unicorns and heavy metal. It is my goal to empower and support people through nutrition and attitude. I have an Etsy store you can check out as well www.etsy.com/shop/ironballoon

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. I’ll Have My Christmas Now Please « Iron Balloon - June 16, 2012

Get in the conversation!

