Pass the Poupon Please!

There I am at the store, and I need ONE more thing to get my cook on this weekend…Dijon mustard.

But…where is it???

Yeah. None. OH SNAP. I have a full cart and I NEED Dijon. It is a requirement and those 2 teaspoons will make a difference in my recipe, I know it! Plus, I am now recalling that they have never carried Dijon mustard at this store, and I really don’t want to make a special trip and buy a chemical-y mustard (so NOT French) from a chain grocery!

Deep breath. Google! Thank you google! Homemade Dijon? Piece ‘o cake! There IS a reason for everything!

Homemade Dijon Mustard
(barely adapted from here)

  • 2 cups dry white wine (I used a local Dry Riesling)
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 cup mustard powder (4 oz, 1/4 lb-same thing)
  • 4 T honey
  • 1 T olive oil
  • 1 tsp pink salt
  • Few shakes of pepper

Directions:

  1. In a non-stick saucepan combine the wine, onion and garlic; heat to boiling, simmer 5 minutes.
  2. Cool, and discard solids (onion/garlic).
  3. Add the dry mustard to the cooked liquid, stirring constantly until smooth. (I didn’t sift in my mustard and I wish I had. It’s hard to smooth out the chunks and they are HOT!).
  4. Blend in honey, oil and salt; heat slowly until thickened (keep nose away; fumes are strong!), stirring constantly. Don’t overcook! I did and it’s not super spreadable, but still tastes fine.
  5. Pour into a glass jar; cool, let sit on counter at room temperature overnight.
  6. Refrigerate for 2-8 weeks to age flavor before using. I saw on another blog, she uses it right away, so I did! She also suggests giving it as a gift. For the mother who has everything? Genius!

After grabbing a quick taste before it was thickened, the insane spice/heat opened my nose right up, I remember that mustard powder is how I made Chinese hot mustard a while ago.

Mustard as a health food? YES!! Mustard seed is actually from the brassica family like cabbage and kale. The ancient Chinese considered it an aphrodisiac, as well as a symbol in the Christian faith representing something small turning into something of great strength. Good mustard can stimulate circulation and help neutralize toxins. Hippocrates – Let food be thy medicine and medicine be thy food – also used used mustard in poultices and medicines (which was its primary function for awhile!). It’s also a good source of Selenium-protection against inflammation!

Bookmark this for use in tomorrow’s recipe, Kale and Apple Salad!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About Sarah Hiller

Eco-maniacal! I love learning about food and health, and then sharing! I'm also an aspiring photographer, lover of kale, dogs, yoga, anything fitness, sunshine, rainbows, unicorns and heavy metal. It is my goal to empower and support people through nutrition and attitude. I have an Etsy store you can check out as well www.etsy.com/shop/ironballoon

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. My Mayo is Green « Iron Balloon - June 3, 2012

Get in the conversation!

