My Mayo is Green

I’m not really worried about my green mayonnaise. I kind of figured it would look like that.

First off, homemade mayonnaise is insanely easy. After reading Julie and Julia I thought mayo was best left to the professionals. But tons of people have mastered the art of making mayo with modern tools.

After discovering soy makes me feel less than extraordinary, I mourned the complete loss of  infrequent mayo trips in my life. Vegenaise, Hellman’s and Best Foods have soy in them and were no longer options. What’s a girl to do?!

Solution? Walk the plank and make my own.

Homemade Mayonnaise (from here)

  • 3 egg yolks*
  • 1/2 tsp prepared dijon mustard
  • 1-2 T fresh lemon juice (1/2+ lemon)
  • 3 tsp white balsamic vinegar (or 1 tsp balsamic, 2 tsp white wine vinegar)
  • 1 tsp celtic sea salt
  • 3/4 cup grapeseed oil (or hempseed oil)

Directions:

  1. Bring everything to room temperature. (Grapeseed oil is best stored refrigerated).
  2. Combine everything EXCEPT the oil. The stick blender I used came with a cup perfect for this, like this one. A 2 cup pyrex would probably work too.
  3. Mix with the stick blender until creamy, about 5 seconds.
  4. While blending, pour the oil in small increments and mix until it’s homogenized. I lift the blender up and down as it’s blending- the quick up and down motion helps the mixture to homogenize, and it will thicken right up.

This is a great video on how it’s done.

Now the green comes from the grapeseed oil, which is phenomenal! I think other grapeseed oils that aren’t green may be more refined, you will just have to check the label to confirm this. Grapeseed oil has a high smoke point of 420°F+ (varies by source). If your oil is smoking, it has gone beyond its smoke point and is releasing harmful ingredients and may have adverse health consequences if ingested.

This was my first introduction to grapeseed oil, and what a delicious intro!

*You are using raw eggs, so just be clean and cautious.

Tags: , , , , ,

About Sarah Hiller

Eco-maniacal! I love learning about food and health, and then sharing! I'm also an aspiring photographer, lover of kale, dogs, yoga, anything fitness, sunshine, rainbows, unicorns and heavy metal. It is my goal to empower and support people through nutrition and attitude. I have an Etsy store you can check out as well www.etsy.com/shop/ironballoon

Get in the conversation!

