I’ll Have My Christmas Now Please

Yes, I believe you can have your cake and eat it too. Christmas in June? Heck yeah, why not? Oh, and by “cake” I mean cinnamon sugared almonds.

The kind they sell in corner carts at the mall, at Cabela’s at every fair and market…those crunchy sugar glazed almonds with the sweet cinnamon smell…I loooove them.

I have been working on finding a substitute for the sugary goodies since last Christmas, and working in earnest. I resorted to using organic sugar (whoops it was white sugar too!) but found a reduced measurement that worked just fine. But it was still cane sugar. Another plus however, was that it was also egg-free, which was a huge achievement since that version had always burned on me anyway.

HOW. EVER. In my endless pursuit for crunchy sugared almonds, a victor finally emerged. Behold…

Maple Sugar Almonds (from here)

  • 2 cups raw almonds, rinsed (or you can soak* them for 8 hours and rinse for better digestion)
  • 1/2 cup organic maple sugar granules
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp celtic sea salt
    ~Recipe can be doubled
  1. Soak and drain your almonds, if you are soaking them. Otherwise just rinse and drain your almonds.
  2. Mix together the maple sugar, cinnamon and sea salt.
  3. Roll the wet almonds in the mixture until well coated.
  4. If you didn’t presoak the almonds, lay on trays covered in parchment or teflex and place in the dehydrator for about 8 hours until dried.
  5. *If you soaked your almonds you will need to dehydrate for longer. At 140°, it took about 2 days and only turning it off when I slept.

Yes, 2 days is a long time, but I think you can infer that I am not short on patience. I’m guessing I didn’t drain my almonds well enough since I had some sugary puddles on my parchment covered trays. The sugary puddles dried nice and crisp on the almonds though. I suspect coconut sugar could perhaps substitute a bit of the maple sugar to lower the glycemic load.

Now, maple sugar isn’t really a raw food since it’s boiled maple syrup into a crystallized form. But it’s a far cry from white sugar. Plus by dehydrating  at 115° instead of baking them, you are keepin’ it raw.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About Sarah Hiller

Eco-maniacal! I love learning about food and health, and then sharing! I'm also an aspiring photographer, lover of kale, dogs, yoga, anything fitness, sunshine, rainbows, unicorns and heavy metal. It is my goal to empower and support people through nutrition and attitude. I have an Etsy store you can check out as well www.etsy.com/shop/ironballoon

2 responses to “I’ll Have My Christmas Now Please”

  1. Holly says :

    Can this be my christmas present? They look really good!

Get in the conversation!

