Buttercups of the Peanut Variety

Reese's Peanut Butter Cups

Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups (makes 4 large cups)

Chocolate Ingredients:

  • 4 T cacao
  • 4 T coconut oil, melted
  • 2 T grade B maple syrup

Peanut Butter Filling:

  • 3-4 T peanut butter (without oil added, I love Santa Cruz)
  • Optional: 1/2 tsp raw honey for added sweetness

Directions:

  1. Mix chocolate sauce in a bowl until smooth.
  2. In a small or large cupcake baking cup, pour enough chocolate sauce in it to cover the bottom. Placing your cups in cupcake pan will help keep the roundness. Freeze for 5-10 minutes until hardened.
  3. Dollop peanut butter onto frozen chocolate base. (Make as thick as you want, I used about 1 T per cup.)
  4. Top with chocolate sauce until peanut butter is covered and freeze for 5-10 minutes.
  5. Store in the freezer for a harder cup or the fridge for a softer one.

You really cannot go wrong with the mixture so feel free to use different molds and/or change the filling type or quantity. Any oil-free nut butter can be substituted (cashew, almond, walnut, coconut) – even non-nut butters like sunflower butter would be great. Eating 1/2 of 1 cup was plenty to satisfy my sweet tooth at that crucial moment. As we approach the end of the 4th sugar-free month I can gladly say I’ve had a few slips and the resulting headaches really keep me honest! With tricks like these up my sleeve I’m not afraid of being refined-sugar free forever.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Sarah Hiller

Eco-maniacal! I love learning about food and health, and then sharing! I'm also an aspiring photographer, lover of kale, dogs, yoga, anything fitness, sunshine, rainbows, unicorns and heavy metal. It is my goal to empower and support people through nutrition and attitude. I have an Etsy store you can check out as well www.etsy.com/shop/ironballoon

Get in the conversation!

