Cinnamon Crumb Coffee Cakes

Cinnamon Crumb Muffins

Of the many traditional foods I miss (Dad’s Velveeta Au gratins) I miss Grandma’s Sour Cream Coffee Cake. Sugary cake for breakfast?! Yes please. I especially like the part copied onto my recipe that says “cinnamon & sugar DON’T SKIMP!” –  No measurements. So my innate just-wing-the ingredients attitude slowed when I started eating raw vegan. Elana Amsterdam’s Cinnamon Crumb Cupcake recipe gave me a jump-start and I just adjusted a few things. I don’t like to use agave since it’s become such a controversial sweetener, so until it isn’t considered worse than, or similar to corn syrup I’ll try alternative sweeteners. Mine did also fall in the center likely due to the switch (which Jon says gives them character) and it’s a very dense cake, but so cinnamon-delicious!

Cinnamon Crumb Coffee Cakes

Ingredients (Muffin):

  • 1 cup fine almond meal (or blanched almond flour)
  • 2 T coconut flour, sifted
  • 1/4 tsp pink salt
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 cup raw honey
  • 1/4 cup coconut nectar
  • 1 T vanilla extract

Ingredients (Topping)

  • 3/4 cup fine almond meal (or blanched almond flour)
  • 1/2 cup walnuts, coarsely chopped
  • 2 T cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup coconut nectar (maybe Grade B Maple Syrup next time)

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350°F.
  2. Line 10 cups in a muffin pan.
  3. Bake for 18+ minutes until toothpick comes out almost clean.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About S Shepard

Eco-maniacal! I love learning about food and health, and then sharing! I'm also an aspiring photographer, lover of kale, dogs, yoga, anything fitness, sunshine, rainbows, unicorns and heavy metal. It is my goal to empower and support people through nutrition and attitude. I have an Etsy store you can check out as well www.etsy.com/shop/ironballoon

Get in the conversation!